This Just In: I’m Lost

I’ve been having such a hard time writing anything to post here recently because it feels like everything about my life is changing from day-to-day, or even hour to hour.

I was accepted to my first choice university for grad school, then I found out that I couldn’t go to grad school at all because it was too expensive. Then I received a funding offer from a school, but it’s from my last choice school and I’m not sure I want to go. So now I’m facing the terrifying prospect of trying to find something new to do with my life.

Grad school has always been my plan. Even when I didn’t know what I would be studying, I knew I would be studying something. I haven’t considered any other options for my life in a long time. Now I’m having to face the reality that I might have to find something new to do when I leave Japan in July, and it’s…not great.

Continue reading