Lemon Chili Shrimp and Other Stuff

Saturday I went to the grocery store and I didn’t really have any plan of what I was going to cook except for I knew I wanted something with lemon and an avocado so I just threw a bunch of things into my basket and lugged it back to my apartment to worry about it later.

Today I’d like the present the second installment of AnnamaRecipes and the result of my disorganized shopping trip: Lemon Chili Shrimp and Other Stuff.

Yum. I hope you’ re ready.

Today’s ingredients are a little bit random as they were simply what I had in the kitchen, so feel free to substitute for whatever you have in yours.

Ingredients:

  • Mini shrimp, no tails, deveined
  • 1 lemon
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • 1 Eggplant
  • 1 Green bell pepper
  • Cabbage
  • Bean sprouts
  • Olive oil
  • Sauce: soy sauce, chili oil, chili powder, dried basil, cayenne pepper, black pepper
  • Quinoa
  • Avocado

Instructions

1. Do your dishes. This may have just been a me problem, but if your sink is also full of dirty dishes go ahead and wash that up.

Today’s ingredients took up my whole counter

2. Make the quinoa. I made mine in my rice cooker, but in can also be made just in a pan with a lid and some water. You could just make rice instead, but I thought quinoa went especially well with this dish and making quinoa looks really impressive to people who don’t know how to make quinoa.

3. Throw some chopped onion, garlic, and the shrimp in your pan with some olive oil. Sprinkle it with some chili powder and cayenne pepper.


4. Squeeze half of your lemon on top of the shrimp, onion, and garlic. Keep the other half for now.

5.  Chop up the bell pepper and throw it in the pan as well. Go ahead and throw in some dried basil and black pepper. No one is watching.

Throw in some real basil if you’re feeling dangerous and basil is available in your country.

5. Chop up the the cabbage and eggplant. This gets mushy faster so you want to throw it in later than the bell pepper, which you want to cook for a little bit.

6.  Add the cabbage, eggplant, and bean sprouts.

7.  Let’s make the sauce! Mix soy sauce, a splash of chili oil (I used a Thai chili oil today), the second half of the lemon, chili powder, black pepper, dried basil, and anything else you want in a measuring cup or coffee mug. Throw it in the pan.

I added dried chili peppers also because I have no limits.

8. Let that be for a minute, but stir it periodically. (Or shake the pan like a chef on TV. I know you want to.) Meanwhile, chop up some avocado. Try not to overcook the stuff in the pan. I ended up with some delicious brown mush today. Be better than me.

My first time using avocado without supervision.

 

9. Your quinoa should be done. Put it in your food container for today.

More like quinWOW am I right?

10. Put your shrimp and stuff on top of the quinoa with some avocado on the side. You’re done! Take a picture and impress your friends because you cooked some of the most impressive foods all at once: quinoa, shrimp, eggplant, and avocado.

Instagram worthiness: 7/10

 

Leave a Reply

